How to build a proxmox server ?

subashcit

Jan 24, 2015
Hi,

This is subash and am a FOSS Technologist. I am a beginner to proxmox. I have learned to install Proxmox VE in a Bare metal and have started using it for the past 6 months. Now I would like to build my own Proxmox Server.

I need to power up 50 VM's. My budget is 1000 USD. Please suggest me in buying appropriate components. I am looking to build a Mini ITX Server. I don't want tower chassis.

Please help me in buying right and quality components to build a MiniITX Proxmox server.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards,
Subash V

Hi,
I need to power up 50 VM's. My budget is 1000 USD. Please suggest me in buying appropriate components.

Hi I can't help you really, but I can say you something based on my experience:
"I need to power up 50 VM's" says basically nothing.
you have to consider
- how many resources those VM will need (ram, disk, network, speed)
- how important is that they're reliable (ie: do you need reliable hardware? how many nodes? and maybe HA? reliable shared storage?)
- how are you going to backup those VM?

at least... each aspect could need money. But, frankly, your budget is way too low (to me) for any serious approach for 50 VMs in production, being fast and reliable: I don't want to seem too "rude" but I think nothing below 10x that amount can't t really be minimally usable for this scope. But I could be wrong... I just don't know what you expect from your virtualization project.

If you wish to setup a single small soho server maybe but I would list here before your exact intention for those VMs: which kind? server or desktop VMs? how much ram/disk? is for a school or you will sell those VMs? what happens if the server needs maintenance or breaks? etc etc.

Marco

Hi,

This is subash and am a FOSS Technologist. I am a beginner to proxmox. I have learned to install Proxmox VE in a Bare metal and have started using it for the past 6 months. Now I would like to build my own Proxmox Server.