[SOLVED] ZFS memory usage in NFS share

Alanl96

Aug 31, 2022
Hi everyone, I am new to Proxmox and I have been searching around on how to solve this issue. I have learned that ZFS requires ECC memory, I have been using ZFS on Ubuntu server for a year now with standard DDR4. I ordered an Epyc 7402 and Supermicro H12SSL-i, I will buy ECC memory now that I know I am doing this wrong.

I set up Proxmox and made an Ubuntu server VM. I wanted the VM to be small because I can have small backups. The movies will be stored on the host machine and shared with the guest using NFS. I also want other VMs to use my ZFS volume. I created a ZFS RAID10 volume with eight 8TB HDDs, and copied my movies over to it (14.01TB used with compression enabled). My old setup used 100GB of memory, the Proxmox host uses 65GB of memory and my Plex VM wants more than 50GB, but I can't physically give it more memory.

Does NFS cause the guest VM to consume the same amount of memory as the host? I would like to decrease memory usage, but if that isn't reasonable I can purchase higher capacity DIMMs since I will have 8 DIMM slots on my motherboard. I just want to know if I need to change settings in the host or guest to decrease ZFS memory consumption, or if both devices actually need the memory allocated. If they do need the memory, then I can buy more. Is there a better way to handle my storage between guest VMs and the host machine? Thanks in advance!

I have learned that ZFS requires ECC memory. ... I will buy ECC memory now that I know I am doing this wrong.
ZFS does not require ECC memory. However, if you go to the trouble to use a filesystem that checksums the data to detect bit rot (and you better have another copy of the data like mirror or raidz, otherwise it cannot be fixed), it would be a shame if your data got corrupted in memory. Still, it remains a (expensive) choice and not a requirement.