Using Proxmox with KVM for a Workstation: How to view guest vm's on the screen?

luke

Apr 16, 2009
UK
www.lukearmstrong.co.uk
Hi, I'm new here so I ought to introduce myself. My name is Luke, I'm 23, I live in the UK, and I am a Web Developer. I originally stumbled across Proxmox so that I could use it on my server, but I see it may also have potential to be used on my workstation too.

For the question I am about to ask I have searched google, read all of the pages on the Proxmox VE Wiki, watched all of the video tutorials, and browsed through the first 20 pages of this forum for an answer - but i couldn't find a solution, so please bear with me if this has been covered before.

Some web developers use virtual machines for testing their websites on different browsers on operating systems, or they may need to use applications that only work on Windows, Linux or Mac OSX. But they only have one computer, so they setup a Hypervisor and install Guests on it to be used directly. This allows them to switch between operating systems, and run different applications on different operating systems at the same time.

Ideally I would like to be able to install Proxmox on my workstation, install guests onto it, then be able to view the Guest's screen from the workstation's monitor. I know proxmox is a web based front end intended to be used from another computer with a web browser, and you can view the Guest's screen using a web browser from another computer, but I want to be able to do it all with the one computer.

I don't mind having to use two computers to setup the guests to begin with, but is it possible to view the Guest's screen directly on the Hypervisor and switch between the guests? From what I have read, it seems that all you see on the Hypervisor's screen is the terminal, and you need to use another computer to view the Guest's screen?

Is what I want to do possible? Can anyone point me in the right direction for setting this up?