USB 4g/LTE passthrough

mangos

Jan 26, 2022
Hi there,

I love proxmox but I have quite a specific usecase which is causing me some trouble. I am not an IT professional by any means so please bear with me.

My hardware:

1) 40 Intel NUCS (4 in cluster so far)
2) 48 port unmanaged switch
3) A lot of Huawei USB 4g/LTE dongles. (E3372h-607)
4) Switch is connected to my Router via wan cable

I have a requirement to run 60-100 Windows vms on these NUCS and each Windows Guest must use one dongle and one dongle only to access the internet.

I am having trouble passing through the internet from these usb dongles to Windows Guests directly from Proxmox - I cannot for the life of me figure out why windows won't recognise the dongles. (They work perfect in a non VM Windows)

Anyway so it turns out Ubuntu recognises them just fine using usb passthrough. So my plan is to somehow create some sort of gateway in the ubuntu vm to each and every windows guest - is this possible? How would I go about this? Basically I want every Windows Guest on each of my NUCS to have access to one dongles internet connection, that's it. I have spent weeks and weeks on this problem myself.

Do I need to use a Linux Bridge? a VLAN? What exactly will help me achieve my goal?

Cheers

Last edited:
already seen:
USB Devices in Virtual Machines?

working fine with usb sticks ;)

Short:

Get USB ID - for me it's 2-2:
Bash:
root@Proxmox ~ lsusb -t
/:  Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/10p, 5000M
    |__ Port2: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=usb-sotrage, 1000M
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/16p, 480M

Edit VM.conf - use ContainerID instead of VM-ID and add "usb0: host=2-2" in last lane
Bash:
root@Proxmox ~ nano /etc/pve/qemu-server/<VM-ID>.conf

bios: ovmf
boot: order=virtio0;ide2;net0
cores: 4
efidisk0: vg1:vm-105-disk-1,efitype=4m,pre-enrolled-keys=1,size=4M
machine: pc-q35-6.1
memory: 32768
meta: creation-qemu=6.1.0,ctime=1642537547
name: Server2022