TrueNAS Scale VM problems with PCIe NVME passthrough

Tijay99

May 25, 2024
I am having problems with my TrueNas VM as the host loses connection when I start the VM with my NVME SSD passed through to the VM.
The VM runs fine if I dont passthrough the SSD. IOMMMU is active and no other VMs are running/taking resources.

I am very new to working with linux and VMs, so it might be a simple oversight on my part, but I am not able to figure out what the problem is and why it only shows up if the NVME is passed through.
If anyone has an idea what to check or if you need more information, then please let me know.

Specs of the system:
-AMD Ryzen 5 5500GT
-MSI MPG B550 Gaming Plus
-16 GB RAM
-2x 1TB Sata SSD (passed through to VM)
-1x 1TB KIOXIA EXCERIA NVME
-1x 512 Samsung NVME (Boot drive for Proxmox)

I am having problems with my TrueNas VM as the host loses connection when I start the VM with my NVME SSD passed through to the VM.
Check your IOMMU groups: https://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/PCI_Passthrough#Verify_IOMMU_isolation
-AMD Ryzen 5 5500GT
-MSI MPG B550 Gaming Plus
Any Ryzen motherboard (except X570) can only passthrough a single x16 PCIe slot and one x4 M.2 slot (both connected to the CPU instead of the chipset).

Thanks for the quick reply.

I have checked this and the table I get looks fine to me. But I also dont really know what to look for.

1716632069249.png
Any Ryzen motherboard (except X570) can only passthrough a single x16 PCIe slot and one x4 M.2 slot (both connected to the CPU instead of the chipset).
I think this shouldnt matter, since the SSDs are passed through from the motherboard sata controller or have I reached this limit in doing so?
I used this command to do so:

https://youtu.be/M3pKprTdNqQ?list=PLQS-uPhGcHwfyYMQObGgmmB9DCk7OkzYM&t=726

I think this shouldnt matter, since the SSDs are passed through from the motherboard sata controller or have I reached this limit in doing so?