TASK ERROR: VM is locked (backup)

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by jmjosebest, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. jmjosebest

    jmjosebest Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi, after a full host restart I get this error starting a virtual machine KVM.

    TASK ERROR: VM is locked (backup)

    /var/lib/vz/lock is empty...
    How can I unlock?
    Thanks
     
  2. jmjosebest

    jmjosebest Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ok :)

    Code:
    qm unlock 101
     
  3. PC Rescue

    PC Rescue New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey thanks jmjosebest, you saved my day!
     
  4. RollMops

    RollMops New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    o.k., unlock works. But how can it be prevented that the VE locks itself up in the first place?I have one that keeps falling into this state, cannot be (re-)started via the web-interface and needs above manual unlock to be (re-)started again. What could be the cause?
    Cheers
     
  5. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    523
    find out why the backup job crashed.. is it backing up to unreliable (network) storage?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. RollMops

    RollMops New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you, Fabian.
    So it is definitely a crashed backup-job that prevents the VE from (re-)starting? How could I find out what is the cause of the crash during backup?
    Backups are performed on local storage (ZFS pool: rpool)
    None of the other 5 VEs on this box has this problem; they are all backed up together once a week.
     
  7. fabian

    fabian Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Messages:
    3,390
    Likes Received:
    523
    check the system logs around the time of the failed backup, try manually backing up the VM a couple of times and check for failure.

    it might have been a one time fluke.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. RollMops

    RollMops New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can provoke a system crash by manually starting a backup of the VE that I use to find in a locked state.
    After 1 or 2 mins., process z_wr_iss takes 97% CPU and subsequently the server fails. It then automatically reboots, but the VE is still locked from the pending/failed backup process and does not automatically recover.
    I attach a screenshot of the last state seen in "top".
    Could this be prevented by adding some RAM to the box?

    Bildschirmfoto 2016-09-28 um 14.41.03.png
     
  9. RollMops

    RollMops New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    just a brief follow up: I upgraded my box (hp micro server gen8). RAM from 2GB to 4GB, replaced the Celeron w. an i3. No more problems since then. proxmox' official system requirements state 8GB RAM for a good reason :)
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice