Storage planning for new installation

shkval

Apr 18, 2021
Newbie here about to install Proxmox soon, also with the idea get integrate a NAS in there (virtualized FreeNas or OMV).

The question I've is regarding a planning for the Disk, the idea I have is:
  • Proxmox installed in a consumer grade SSD
  • Spare 1TB for Iso, Containers, VMs...
    • In the future I'm thinking some NVME SSD but I heard they can get wear out quite fast
    • I'm not worried about HA or fault tolerance so far, I can make backups for the time been until add new drive and RAID in place
  • On NAS pass-through i was thinking use the SAS controller or the spare SATA connector to pass 2 x 12 TB Sata drives (I've a Seagate Ironwolf) thinking in ZFS storage pool probably to expand to 2 x Additional 12TB in the future as well on RAID10

• Proxmox installed in a consumer grade SSD
Thats fine if you just want to run Proxmox from it. But do you a favor and buy a second one so you can mirror them. If your proxmox can't boot you can't access all of your files. You get a 120GB SSD for only 20 bucks so that should totally be worth it.
  • Spare 1TB for Iso, Containers, VMs...
    • In the future I'm thinking some NVME SSD but I heard they can get wear out quite fast
    • I'm not worried about HA or fault tolerance so far, I can make backups for the time been until add new drive and RAID in place
Is your "spare 1TB" a HDD or SSD? HDDs aren't that great for a VM storage because they can't handle all the IOPS you get when running serveral guests in parallel. And yes, depending on your workload a consumer SSD might die within months. You really should spend a little bit more and get a enterprise grade SSD for that. You get useful enterprise SSDs for a little bit over 200€ per 1TB (Intel S4610 for example).