SATA issues

dejhost

Dec 13, 2020
Hello !
I've been struggeling with one of my servers for several months now.

There seems to be a hardware conflict related to SATA. My ZFS RAIDZ (4x 10TB HDD in 2 mirrors) claimed that there was 1 disk failure. I replaced the disk and shortly after, 2 more disks seem to fail (one in each of the mirrors). I assumed, that this is not at disk problem, and started to search for other issues.

dmesg slow sata.jpeg

In the comming weeks, I replaced:
1) All SATA cables
2) The PSU*
3) The mainboard, including the chasis
4) The CPU

*I should mention that since changing the PSU did not help, I reinstalled the original PSU.

So now, I have pretty much a new server. Nothing seems to help. Here are further things I tried:
1) I ran 4 hours of RAM test. No errors found.
2) Booted from a live-USB: Linux Mint. Same issues found.
3) I upgrade proxmox to 8.2.4.
4) I tried systematically all Linux-kernels that are available in the server.
5) Ran smartmontools on all hdds. Some of the short tests, and all of the long tests got "Aborted by the host".
6) Attached all hdds to a workstation. Conducted smartmontools long tests (something between 8-14 hours). No errors founds, all healthy.
7) Ran many, many scrubs on the ZFS on the server. In the beginning, inconsistent data was found and dealt with. By now, all data is deleted.