Restore failed - vma blk_flush drive-virtio1 failed

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by PeterMarcusH., Jun 8, 2019.

  1. PeterMarcusH.

    PeterMarcusH. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys, im in need of help for restoring a VM.
    Firstly, im quit new to proxmox, and my experience with restoring VMs is little to none. I had previously made a VM which was allocated om my local-lvm storage, with an added disk (my plex volume) so i could in windows have a seperate drive for media. At some point i deleted it (my windows VM), by mistake and wanted to restore it. It seems to go well, but right after reaching 100% it crashes :(. I believe it has something to do with the first two warnings i get...but i dont know?

    - Any help would be appreciated, Thank you.
    - I added pictures for information
     

    Attached Files:

  2. lhorace

    lhorace Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hello there,

    The warning indicates that you've over-provision and data you trying to write may have exceeded underlying physical disk space. What is the output of the following:

    Code:
    lvs
    vgs
    pvs
    
    Regards
     
  3. PeterMarcusH.

    PeterMarcusH. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello ihorace :), this is the result for running the commands:
     

    Attached Files:

    • lvs.PNG
      lvs.PNG
      File size:
      17.4 KB
      Views:
      8
    • vgs.PNG
      vgs.PNG
      File size:
      4.2 KB
      Views:
      8
    • pvs.PNG
      pvs.PNG
      File size:
      4.8 KB
      Views:
      8
  4. lhorace

    lhorace Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    For future reference, it's easier to simply wrap the output in [ code ][/ code ] tags.

    With that said, if I'm reading this correctly, vzdump reports the size of the archive is 300G compressed from promox2.PNG, lvs states you are nearly using 50% (that is allocated data on the LV) of your total pve/data logical volume, which leaves roughly 169G physical free space, do the math. This is a critical warning to you about LVM thin to avoid lost of data, you never should run your LVM thin to the brim, leave a healthy physical free space. Might want to re-think what you want to accomplish, find ways to shrink that archive to a usable size or add more physical space to pve/data to accommodate your Windows VM.

    Regards
     
  5. PeterMarcusH.

    PeterMarcusH. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello again Ihorace :). I am understanding what you are saying, however i think we may be misunderstanding each other. The problem i have is that my VM, which was initially 50Gb worth of storage, had an added seperate SSD (the Plex volume) added to the VM, (you know in the hardware/options tab and "add storage (or what its called").
    What i guess the restore did, was calculate the total sum of the VM + the added 1TB volume and created a 300gb compressed backup file. When i then try to restore it, the problem arises, as i guess it tries to allocate the entire compressed backup file on the remaining 169Gb. I need the backup to realise, that the backup is in fact two seperate volumes binded to each other.
     
  6. lhorace

    lhorace Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    The problem here is, the archive is 300G, so when you backed it up, it also probably backup the plex volume as well. That's my best guess why it's that size. You probably going to have untar, copy what you never to the extra drive while reduce it's size and re-tar.
     
  7. lhorace

    lhorace Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2015
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Btw, I am not sure if qm restore is intelligent enough to know what data goes to what disk because Linux. Maybe the staff have a clue.

    P.S. Try from console instead from the GUI, this might have more insight on what's going on, if it's indeed putting the data where it should go. If that's true, the problem is else where.
     
  8. PeterMarcusH.

    PeterMarcusH. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your time Ihorace :), ill maybe try the unpacking of the backup-file and cherry pick what i need. I was hoping for the complete solution, but as you say, may not be possible
     
  9. PeterMarcusH.

    PeterMarcusH. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2019
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    FIXED! Apperently, doing it via the shell seems to fix it...lol. Thank you anyway
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice