Remove node from cluster and (how to) use it again...

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Pavel Hruška, Feb 20, 2019.

  1. Pavel Hruška

    Pavel Hruška Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hello, the procedure of removing node from a cluster is clear for me, but I wanted to ask if it is safe to reinstall removed node and assign it the same name and the same IP that it previously had?

    I have some standalone PVE node that I want to move VMs to other nodes at existing cluster, so I thought it would be possible to join this standalone node to the cluster, move VMs and then remove the node from cluster. But I want to reuse that node again after the procedure...
     
  2. dlimbeck

    dlimbeck Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2018
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    9
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. Pavel Hruška

    Pavel Hruška Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well backup and restore method is not the best one, transffering (TiBs of) data twice is just waste of time and bandwith, but looks like there is no other way, so I will have to go through that :eek:).

    Anyway thank you for your reply. It helped me a lot.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice