Recommended Storage Type, RAID vs No RAID, ZFS vs no ZFS

gorillaz

Sep 7, 2024
Hello everyone,

I'm new to proxmox and am not sure about whether I should go with ZFS and/or RAID or without for my hardware.

My hardware:
Lenovo ThinkCentre with Intel i5-9400T 1.80 Ghz
32 GB Non-ECC RAM
1x 256 GB M2-SSD for Proxmox installation
4x 4TB HDD

What I already know is that ZFS has many advantages over the other options but I'm not sure if it is suitable for my hardware because of the resource overhead and Non-ECC memory (although data corruption because of that should be rather rare as far as i know).
Also I'm not sure what would happen if I use ZFS without RAID and one drive fails. Is the whole pool then non-recoverable or just the failed drive? Because if not, I'd rather go with no RAID (I've had trouble with RAID before, being stuck in a reconstruction loop and other things) and have an extra 4TB cause I would have backup if a failure happens.
And is it true that if the proxmox installation is broken or my machine stops working, I'm not able to access my data on another machine when using ZFS with or without RAID?

I'm really interested in your long-term experiences of those different options (ZFS, ZFS with RAID, no ZFS like lvm, ...) and recommendations for my specific hardware.

Thanks for your help

Ideally you need to address redundancy from the other side, ie not: "I have this and" but "I want this". However you have some hardware and want to make the best of it.

You have a M2 and a bunch of spinning rust and you have decided to use the M2 for the OS and it looks like you want to use the spinning discs for data.

If you have a hardware RAID controller with battery backed cache then use that: Four HDDs as RAID 5 and slap an ext4 or xfs on it. If you do not have a hardware RAID controller then you should consider a software alternative. ZFS is indicated. Don't worry about ECC too much unless you are going to massively increase your budget.