pve-firewall vs iptables/systemctl reporting discrepencies

johnnyutahh

Sep 19, 2020
Proxmox newbie here. In my PVE server...

1. If the pve-firewall is running (with policy_in: DROP like it says below, why does iptables report no rules (ie: everything is "accepted")?

2. what does 'disabled' mean in pve-firewall status = disabled/running? (systemctl status pve-firewall.service reports the service as enabled.)

Corresponding system details below.

Code:
$ pve-firewall status
$
$ cat /etc/pve/firewall/cluster.fw
[OPTIONS]

policy_in: DROP

$
$ iptables --list-rules
-P INPUT ACCEPT
-P FORWARD ACCEPT
-P OUTPUT ACCEPT
$
$ pveversion ; date
pve-manager/6.2-11/22fb4983 (running kernel: 5.4.60-1-pve)
Mon 21 Sep 2020 01:12:17 PM CDT
$
$ systemctl status pve-firewall.service
● pve-firewall.service - Proxmox VE firewall
   Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/pve-firewall.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled)
   Active: active (running) since Mon 2020-09-21 12:44:00 CDT; 28min ago
  Process: 25281 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/update-alternatives --set ebtables /usr/sbin/ebtables-legacy (code=ex
  Process: 25283 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/update-alternatives --set iptables /usr/sbin/iptables-legacy (code=ex
  Process: 25289 ExecStartPre=/usr/bin/update-alternatives --set ip6tables /usr/sbin/ip6tables-legacy (code=
  Process: 25290 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/pve-firewall start (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
Main PID: 25291 (pve-firewall)
    Tasks: 1 (limit: 4915)
   Memory: 85.3M
   CGroup: /system.slice/pve-firewall.service
           └─25291 pve-firewall

Sep 21 12:43:59 pve systemd[1]: Starting Proxmox VE firewall...
Sep 21 12:44:00 pve pve-firewall[25291]: starting server
Sep 21 12:44:00 pve systemd[1]: Started Proxmox VE firewall.
$

Proxmox newbie here. In my PVE server...

1. If the pve-firewall is running (with policy_in: DROP like it says below, why does iptables report no rules (ie: everything is "accepted")?