Proxmox VE 3 - FW-VM as Gateway

Dockay

Jul 9, 2013
Hi,

i'm new to Proxmox VE and have a simple layout question.

I wanted to realize this:

Internet <-> Host (Proxmox) First-Public-IP <-> (Second-Public-IP) VM Firewall (pfsense) <-> all other VMs with private LAN (192.168.x.x)

I read tons of wikis and websites and I still don't get the clue how to setup the interfaces in Proxmox.

I have eth0 / eth1

I tried different configurations but they didn't seem to work. I have always acces to my first Public-IP, but the second is alway not reachable/connection denied

In pfsense I added two vmbr0/vmbr1 for WAN/LAN, but pfsense didn't get connection to the internet nor can ping the FirstPublic-IP.

Could anyone give me a clue how to setup these bridges?

hi

i would do

on pve host:
- eth0 and eth1 should be not configured directly
- a vmbr0 ("external") bridge should be created, with the first public ip, bound to the unconfigured eth0
- a vmbr1 ("internal") bridge should be created, with an internal LAN ip, bound to the unconfigured eth1

your pfsense vm:
- should have two virtual network cards (nics), the external bound to vmbr0, the internal to vmbr1
then it should be able to work as expected

there could be other setups, though...

Marco

Hi marco,

thanks for your response.

i just got the information, eth1 is not connected, thus, not usable.

I added vmbr0 for external with my FirstPublicIP bridged to eth0
and vmbr1 with internal IP bridged to none

I added two nics to the VM for vmbr0/vmbr1 and set the IP-Address for WAN/LAN.

still don't get any connection from pfsensevm to internet/or firstpublic-ip.

have you any other hint?

eth0 has .139 as first-public-ip
additionally I have .140 as second-public-ip

current setup:
vm_network.png

thanks in advance!

Attachments

• Bildschirmfoto 2013-07-09 um 14.14.38.png
    Bildschirmfoto 2013-07-09 um 14.14.38.png
    7.9 KB · Views: 8
i just got the information, eth1 is not connected, thus, not usable.

current setup: