Proxmox VE 2.0: Incorrect handling of dashes (-) in node hostname

rqk8j

Mar 31, 2012
[Solved] Single letter hostname errors [was: Errors when using dashes in nodenames]

Hello

I am quite new to Proxmox, but what I have seen so far looks very promising. You guys did some really great work on the latest 2.0 release.
I was testing rc1 over the past few days and - as expected, since I was using pre-released software - I came across an undocumented feature, which I would address as a bug:

When installing rc1 using the bare-metal ISO installer, I got the following error message (which has been mentioned in a fewotherpostingsaround here. The solution seemed to be an upgrade to the latest version - what I have already tried).

Parameter verification failed. (400)
Looking at the XHR requests to the server, the following requests return these errors:
"NetworkError: 400 Parameter verification failed. - https://a.ve-ho.st:8006/api2/json/nodes/a/storage/local/status"

"NetworkError: 400 Parameter verification failed. - https://a.ve-ho.st:8006/api2/png/nodes/a/storage/local/rrd?ds=total,used&timeframe=week&cf=AVERAGE&_dc=4"rrd?ds...E&_dc=4
Not all requests throw out errors. There are some that seem to work just fine.
After reading some postings about Proxmox having problems with handling 'DNS-Names with dashes/underscores', I changed the hostname to a.veho.st (note: no dash) for testing purposes.
This turned out to be a possible workaround for this problem.

Yesterday, I installed the latest 2.0 final release using the debian bare-metal ISO installer. I was hoping to use this installation as a productive system when everything is set up. But unfortunately, with a hostname like a.ve-ho.st, I still receive only 400 Status Codes after logging in using the web interface.

Since the error causing DNS domain name used for this setup is kind of bound to our company's dash-containing name, simply changing it to an un-dashed hostname is not an option this time.