Proxmox VE 0.9beta2 released!

Discussion in 'Announcements' started by martin, Jul 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. martin

    martin Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    275
    We are announcing the release of Proxmox VE 0.9beta2.

    Release notes

    • Improved web interface
    • New templates availabe. Fixed firefox template upload bug.
    • OpenVZ kernel updates
    • Update to KVM-71
    • New qemu-server, now supports most KVM features
    • New network model with up to 10 bridges
    • Bonding and VLAN support
    • Installer: show hard drive labels and size, added 'swapsize' and 'maxroot' boot parameters.
    • Vzctl update: support new bridged network model
    • Many bug fixes
    Download

    HowTo upgrade a running Proxmox VE 0.9

    1. Stop all running VM´s
    2. Review and correct /etc/apt/sources.list, should look like this:
      Code:
      deb ftp://ftp.debian.org/debian etch main
      # PVE packages provided by proxmox.com
      deb ftp://pve.proxmox.com/debian etch pve
      # security updates
      deb http://security.debian.org/ etch/updates main
    3. Update your apt repository:
      Code:
      apt-get update
    4. Download and install the new packages:
      Code:
      apt-get dist-upgrade
    5. Reboot
      Code:
      reboot
    6. Review the settings of all your VM´s
    HowTo upgrade a running Proxmox VE 0.9 Cluster

    1. If the described update process above updates SSH keys, the Cluster cannot sync anymore.
    2. Remove the cluster config on the master and all nodes:
      Code:
      rm /etc/pve/cluster.cfg
    3. On the master, recreate the cluster:
      Code:
      pveca -c
    4. On the nodes, remove the known-hosts file:
      Code:
      rm /root/.ssh/known-hosts
    5. Join the nodes to the master:
      Code:
      pveca -a -h master-IP

    Best Regards,

    Martin Maurer

    Proxmox Server Solutions GmbH
    www.proxmox.com
     
    #1 martin, Jul 22, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 29, 2008
  2. r.fluttaz

    r.fluttaz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just for information, if you're on an ovh server ... don't upgrade !!
    All my vm doesn't start ! :(
     
  3. kro

    kro New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is, don't upgrade the kernel. You should still be able to upgrade pve-manager, but I'm testing it by myself.

    Best Regards,
    Felix Krohn
     
  4. diaolin

    diaolin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fantastic, just upgraded but it does not resolve the vlan dependencies
    Installed vlan through testing (debian testing i mean) and the pve-manager istallation
    is ok.

    Consideration:
    1) smp rotext instead of number (tested with number into the code and it works correctly)
    Why "rotext"????
    2) beautiful disk management with the scsi and virtio...
    3) networking is a charme, multiple bridges and a vlan foreach bridge.
    4) if possible adding even the smb server as shared disk would be very interesting (for me)
    5) the mac adresses given to the interfaces are not in the range of the assigned IANA's
    addresses for the qemu interfaces.... Or may be i'm confusing something...
    6) the interface is very very usable
    7) thanks for the install parameters

    In september i'll make a course with 20 persons and i will use 20 machines with 2 4core
    processors with VT enabled for simulating a real environment....

    Using Proxmox of course

    Big work, thanks
    Diaolin
     
  5. zccopwrx

    zccopwrx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, which release can we expect the VZ live migration to function? I noticed its completely disabled now.
     
  6. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    its unstable with kvm, and unsupported by openvz 2.6.24
    Those are local macs.

    great :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    We decided to disable it becaues it is still not 100% stable.

    We will enable it again wen the openvz kernel is more stable.

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. diaolin

    diaolin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unsupported....smp

    i use smp with kvm in a real environment from March...
    always up

    Please disable it only in openvz if possible...

    In any case Tx
     
  9. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    You can alway use the command line to set the -smp option:

    Code:
    qm set VMID --smp 2
    
    Its only disabled on the web interface.

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  10. diaolin

    diaolin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why?????

    I just put
    smp: 2
    into qemu-server/WMID.conf
    and it works.

    Why not permit to change the CPUs if creating/modifying a KVM-machine?

    I think that when we have a good interface available... usign the
    interface should not be only an option.
    ProxMox is a good interface.

    And then... command line BLEAH!

    I use always command line, and when i say always is even for driving a car
    but in this case...

    I don't find the difference, via cmd line or in the config i can use smp
    but from interface is not possible due to ...

    Anyway tx,

    Diaolin
     
  11. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    Again, it is unstable with this version of KVM.

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. diaolin

    diaolin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, it's unstable but the parameter exists and you cannot
    remove parameters every day it becomes unstable or???

    I think that the interface should do it's work: interface.

    For avoiding convulsion (confusion) i think it's better to set
    an
    Unsupported section
    with the "unstable parameters"

    the use of this parameters will be only choosed by administrators
    that knows what they are doing.

    But, i repeat, the interface i s the interface and not the "parameter"
    blocker.

    The good administrator can choose whenever use it or not.

    But probably my vision is too much different.

    In any case, ok.
    With or without smp parameter Proxmox is a great product.

    Any news for the language file????

    Diaolin
     
  13. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    No, I simply have no time to work on that.

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  14. diaolin

    diaolin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    language

    If i extract all the labels should i put the translation
    into a .po file and then recompile it with with the locales
    commands? Like msgfmt???

    Diaolin
     
  15. snesreviews

    snesreviews New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    FYI, upgraded an install with 6 VMs, no problems!
     
  16. snesreviews

    snesreviews New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Though now I am getting problems adding a new VM :(

    /usr/bin/pvectl qmcreate 107 --mem 512 --disk 32 --onboot yes --name bslert1064-01 --cdrom cdrom --network model=rtl8139,tap --disktype ide --ostype l26
    Unknown option: disk
    Unknown option: network
    Unknown option: disktype
    unable to apply VM settings -


    Yet:

    proxmox:/etc# pvectl --help
    pvectl <command> <vmid> [parameters]
    pvectl [vzcreate|vzset] <vmid> (openvz commands)
    --ostemplate NAME specify OS template
    --mem MBYTES memory in MB (64 - 8192)
    --disk GBYTE disk space in GB (0.5 - 1024)
    --cpus N cpus (1 - 4)
    --cpuunits N cpu units (8 - 500000)
    --onboot [yes|no] start at boot
    pvectl [qmcreate|qmset] <vmid> (qemu-server commands)
    --media NAME installation media
    --mem MBYTES memory in MB (64 - 8192)
    --disk GBYTE disk space in GB (0.5 - 1024)
    --cpuunits N cpu units (8 - 500000)
    --onboot [yes|no] start at boot
    --ostype NAME specify OS type
    pvectl print <vmid>
     
  17. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    Basically yes. I have the complete framework here, but currently no time to include it. I will release it as soon as the web interface is more stable (before 1.0).

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  18. tom

    tom Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    13,082
    Likes Received:
    342
    we changed a lot in KVM.
    see

    Code:
    man qemu-server
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  19. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    That command uses old syntax, that is no longer supported.

    use the qm command instead.

    see the manual page for the new options:

    # man qemu-server
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  20. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,245
    Likes Received:
    276
    Also, you seem to have an old version of pvectl.

    # dpkg -l pve-manager

    should show "pve-manager 0.9-4"

    What version do you use?

    - Dietmar
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice