Proxmox NUC 10 NIC Issues

rileyskyler

Jun 2, 2020
Intel NUC 10 10i3FNH

I'm trying to install Proxmox on my Intel Nuc 10. At first, I was having problems connecting to the UI server, but after deeper inspection I have no internet access over ethernet.

I believe this to be a problem with the NIC, because it's a problem when I also attempted to install Hassio baremetal. I have no issues when using Ubuntu Desktop. I can't figure out how to update the ethernet driver via the CLI - granted that's even the solution.

Does anyone have ideas on what I can try from here?

Hi,

the NIC is an I219 which will work out of the box.
The WLAN module driver will not work without the firmware.

Do you see the nic if you run

Code:
ip -c a

It looks like the NIC is being recognized, but it's not connected somehow.
IMG_20200604_140022.jpg
I tried `if[down/up] en01` without results, but I'm not sure what I'm even doing.
I'll admit I'm new to networking and a junior to Linux.

There's a driver on Intel's site which I linked above, but without using *RPM* to install, requires a few commands including `make` which doesn't appear to exist in my Proxmox CLI. Intel Documentation

I have a Unifi Dream machine coming in today to replace my internet provider's stock router. Maybe it's a networking issue.

Please send your network config and try this command and send the output.

The config is at this path /etc/network/interfaces.

Code:
ifdown vmbr0 --force && ifdown eno1 --force && ifup -v vmbr0

This is my network config at `/etc/network/interfaces`

IMG_20200605_120908.jpg

I ran the command you suggested, but still am unable to `ping www.google.com` and connect to the VE host in my browser - even after reboot.

Is it possible that the Ethernet cable is broken?
Or the port on the other side is not enabled?

I've used two ethernet cables, both provided internet in Ubuntu install running on the same hardware. I am connected this way at this moment running a virtual box VM ontop Ubuntu.