Proxmox in a Data Center

kobaltz

I'd like to think that I'm fairly tech savvy. I'm able to be brought up to speed on new topics fairly quickly. However, I am always in search for more knowledge and proper procedures!

I have been using Proxmox in by basement cluster for a few years now. I've never ran into any major issues. I love Proxmox. However, I do have some confusions on the best practices when using Proxmox in a Data Center. Currently in my basement, I have a Cable Modem > Netgear Router > Managed Switch > 2 Proxmox Servers. I've never really worried about security since the Proxmox Servers have always been behind the Netgear Router's firewall. The only port forwarding I enabled was 80 and 443 to a Container on one of the Proxmox servers. It acted as a reverse proxy gateway to handle the internet traffic based on the domain name. On the servers, I had multiple Ruby on Rails containers, Web server containers and MySQL Server containers. Everything works flawlessly.

My confusion is if I were to buy a couple of rack servers and want to put these in a local data center, how would I maintain the security? What is the best practice?

Should I purchase a hardware firewall that will be in between the network at the data center and the servers I'm racking?

Would this firewall contain all of the Public IP Addresses and I would port forward them as needed?

Outside of using a DHCP server, what is the best practice for having local IP addresses for the containers?

I think that I'm just making it more complicated than it needs to be.

Its generally simpler to manage to get a Hardware firewall to put your servers behind. Proxmox runs no iptables firewalls on the hosts and it would get pretty complex and messy to do this yourself and you would then also have to run software firewalls on all your VM's as well