Proxmox direct attached network passthrough feasability.

Lascar12F

Feb 17, 2021
Howdy,

I have a use case that is probably pretty strange and may sound scadalous to some but I think it fits me.
So, I'm trying to replace the shitty "box" router that my ISP forces me to use, with Pfsense by tricking the ISP into believing I have the original box. The ISP router plugs into an ONT that has fiber on one end and rj45 on the other.
While I'm at it i'd like that server to pull multiple duty, hence proxmox. I'm a total noob in the server world, or linux for that matter, but I've heard great things.
The plan is to go 10gig from my PC to my server, and simple 1gig to the ONT.
I live alone, and I own only one PC I need to connect with ethernet, so buying even the least expensive 10gig switch would be an utter waste, as it would literally only have two things plugged into it, my server and my pc.

So after all this backstory, here come the real question. Could I just use the Proxmox NAS functionality as direct attached storage, while runing Pfsense as a VM, and the 1gig plug on my server's motherboard plugged into the ONT ?

So it would go fiber->ONT->1gig plug on motherboard->pfsense->10gig card on server->10gig card on pc. no switch

Is that something that is possible or am I doomed to buying a 10gig switch for just one user ?

PS. Added a shitty MS paint drawing of what I mean in case I'm not being very clear with what I'm saying.

Attachments

• Network plan.png
    Network plan.png
    8.7 KB · Views: 11
Last edited:
Hi!
So after all this backstory, here come the real question. Could I just use the Proxmox NAS functionality as direct attached storage, while runing Pfsense as a VM, and the 1gig plug on my server's motherboard plugged into the ONT ?
I cannot talk for the ONT stuff and your ISP side, that either works or not and is rather outside of Proxmox VEs control sphere,