Proxmox + Ceph drive configuration

philliphs

May 22, 2021
Hi everyone. I'm a newbie both in Proxmox and Ceph.
I'm building home lab consisting of some old hardware consisting of 3 identical nodes.
HP Z420
E5 2630L
32GB ram
1 NVMe 500gb (standard WD blue)
1 SATA SSD 500gb samsung evo 870
1 SATA SSD 120GB cheap boot disk

I'm planning to implement HA on the 3 nodes.
All data will be on ceph pool. I will be running Windows server essentials VM running MySQL database also serving as AD as well as file server.
My question is whether to:
1. Create 2 pools on Ceph, 1 NVMe pool (possibly OS Vdisk), and 1 Sata SSD pool (possibly SQL database and file storage).
2. Create 1 big pool of 6 drives and let ceph manages all mixed OSDs. Would Ceph be able to recognize which drive is faster and utilize it more?

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: I'm only running 1gigabit network, but will utilize 3 separate nics on each of them to separate the normal network, public ceph, and cluster ceph

Last edited:
Considering your setup, you have 120GB Boot Disk per server ( which i believe is used for deploying proxmox + ceph)
Total 3 NVMe Disks of 500GB each
Total 3 SSD Disks of 500GB each
Now if you combine them in ceph, it will result in 6 OSD ( 3 NVME + 3 SSD)
ceph can allow mix use of different disks based on class

You have two options one pool exclusively of NVME on which you will get 3 X 500GB RAW capacity and RF=3 you will get around 500GB total usable capacity and same for SSD Pool

Another option is to use both NVME and SSD in One pool, in that case you will get total capacity as 500GB X 6 and total capacity per pool to be 1500GB

Now coming to network, 1Gbps is low bandwidth setup maximum throughput is 120MB/s and as per node is having 2 Disks (one SSD + one NVME) in full load condition max write is 60MB/s.

if you are ok with this performance, Go ahead. if you can combine 3 NICS in Lagg it would be better