Proxmox 5.2 boot hangs at "Loading initial ramdisk"

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by jimmyjoe, Jun 24, 2018.

Tags:
  1. jimmyjoe

    jimmyjoe Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've installed Proxmox 5.2 on a Supermico X10DRI-LN4 board and Xeon 2637 v3 CPUS. Areca raid controller with a sata array as the boot volume. Have installed twice. After the grub menu disappears, I get:

    Loading Linux 4.15.17-1-pve...
    Loading initial ramdisk...

    But no boot actually happens. Found a thread over a year old here with the same error but not sure it's relevant. Any things to try? Is this a known issue with 5.2?. This system was running Proxmox 4.4 before the upgrade so it was actually working today.

    PS: I'm working on it remotely and CTRL+ALT+DEL isn't working over my KVM console so can't try to reboot into a new kernel right now. Will have to go on site tomorrow morning and try. Hoping to get some info on it before then.

    Thanks
     
  2. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    316
    Hi,

    you have to provide more information.
    What exact type of areca raid controller do you use?
    What is your root fs (ZFS, LVM, ....)?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jimmyjoe

    jimmyjoe Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    root fs is ext4 over LVM on top of a raid 1.
    BIOS details are here: https://postimg.cc/image/cu7d87t1j/
    Areca here : https://postimg.cc/image/n49s7f8mf/

    I booted with the installer Rescue boot yesterday and was able to get into the system. I installed all the latest patches, including pve kernel updated. After reboot, still hanging loading initrd. I just updated the BIOS (shown in the pic) but grub booted into the Rescue prompt now. Might be the boot order changed on the raid volume. Looking into it.
     
  4. jimmyjoe

    jimmyjoe Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looks like the BIOS update fixed it. It reset the boot order, so after selecting the correct volume, Proxmox/Grub booted right up.

    PS: after booting, noticed my subscription is invalid now. Is that something I'll have to be aware of anytime I update BIOS firmware?
     
  5. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    316
    Normally the key will only reset on installation not if the HW/SW changes.
    But you can reset the id by yourself in the shop.
    login to https://shop.maurer-it.com/clientarea.php
    and under "Services" you can reset the ID and enter the new one in your server.
    But the sync can take up to 15 minutes.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. jimmyjoe

    jimmyjoe Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok, thanks for the info. We bought our licenses from a 3rd party so as I understand, we dont actually have an account with shop.maurer-it.com. Would there be any possible way to integrate that functionality for 3rd party licenses (or maybe I'm completely mistaken)? It would be so handy.
     
  7. wolfgang

    wolfgang Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,763
    Likes Received:
    316
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice