[SOLVED] Plex port forwarding to LXC container?

bp1

May 30, 2019
Full disclosure -- I'm just a hobbyist and not an IT professional, so struggling a bit here.

I have Plex running on a Proxmox 5.4-3 Ubuntu LXC container with hardware acceleration enabled and am beyond thrilled with the results. For the life of me though, I can't figure out how to port forward to enable external access.

Brief details on my (basic home) network setup:

external ip address [123.456.789.012] > router [19.168.29.1] > proxmox host [192.168.29.150] > plex lxc container [192.168.29.142]

I need to forward custom port 32401 (external ip, i.e. 123.456.789.012:32401) to the plex host at (192.168.29.142:32400 -- standard plex port). I'm using 32401 as a custom port for plex because I don't want to blow up my existing plex setup at :32400 until I get this working. If there's a better port suggestion other than 32400 I'm all for it.

I have setup port forwarding on my router to both the proxmos host (192.168.29.150) and the LXC Plex container (192.168.29.142) through a bunch of different setting variations without success, but am confident with the general workflow on this step just need direction on the correct IP to point it to.

I've made my container privileged, disabled the firewall, and have been using the standard network settings on the container that allow container > internet connections. name: eth0, mac address: auto, bridge: vmbr0, no VLAN, no firewall, IPv4: DHCP, IPv6: DHCP

I have messed around with iptable settings on the host-side based on other forum posts in /etc/network/interfaces, but end up screwing up my proxmox host every time in the process.

Is there a simple, repeatable way to pull this off? Totally at a loss from where to go from here...

Last edited:
Hi! I don´t think you need to do anything extra ordinary. I´ve successfully setup plex with external access in a Ubuntu container using default network configuration.