[SOLVED] Planning out an Idea...Wanting Feedback

Astraea

Renowned Member
Aug 25, 2018
I have been using Proxmox for just over 2 years now, and has been one of the best changes I have made to my home "datacentre". I am now looking at implementing Proxmox in another setup in my home and I am looking for some guidance and feedback on what I am planning.

My current plan is to install proxmox on my desktop, which is running 24 Gb ram on an Intel i7 (3.2GHz, 4 thread, quad-core) with a NVidia GTX 1060 and add it into my existing DL380 G5 cluster ( currently has 5 servers in the cluster) mostly for ease of management.

I plan to pass the GPU through to a windows VM for gaming. ideally, I would be a Linux only house but some of the games that I play now and then won't run under Steam on Linux. I have a second graphics card that if it fits I would install and pass that to a Linux VM. Both would be attached to a single monitor that has dual inputs. Otherwise, I would skip the Linux VM and just use the rest of the space on the machine for testing and experimenting on.

currently, I use VirtualBox running under windows.

Other than being an interesting experiment is it worth it or should I just reinstall windows on the desktop and call it done? Or do I do a Linux install with a windows VM under something like VirtualBox for gaming?

To add more detail the games I play are not triple "A" titles and are things like Subnatuica, farming simulator, Kerbal Space Program, Jurassic Park Evolution. Though I do have some older triple "A" titles in my steam library.

I am running a VM with a GTX750ti passed through via OMVF the parsecgaming application (+console unlock) and its working well.
I have a second card - GTX 1050ti - which was working fine until one day when I received the dreaded Nvidia driver -43 error and have since then been unable to make use of it.