Reference: https://pdm.proxmox.com/docs/guests.html
My Setup:
So, I'm guessing that what happens is some variation of "copy from source to destination, verify copy, then delete original," possibly with some sort of FS freeze operation on the guest being moved.
I also suspect it uses
Is that what's happening? if not, how does it actually work.
I'm not just asking because I want to know. I'd also like to open an enhancement request to add additional explanation to the documentation about what's required for migration to work/how it works, so it's clear that shared storage is or is not required. I'd like to contribute a first draft of that explanation with the enhancement request, so I want to make sure I actually understand it well enough to do that.
For me personally, I'd also like to add a note about whether or not it's possible use PDM to migrate the VM PDM is running inside from one cluster to another one. Even if that somehow works, I can't imagine it's fully seamless, especially if there's a filesystem freeze.
My Setup:
- I'm currently experimenting with PDM in a VM (the "pdmVM") running on a single-node cluster C1. So, the pdmVM lives on C1.Node1. pdmVM lives on C1.Node1's local ZFS storage for guests.
- I also have a production single node cluster C2, containing only Node1, so my only other node is found at C2.Node1. C2.Node1 uses its own local ZFS mirror for guest storage.
- PDM monitors the C1 cluster and the C2 cluster, as well as a remote PBS. Everything works as expected as far as actually using the VM.
- I presently have no shared storage set up. (Part of the reason I was interested in PDM, actually, as cluster-based migration requires shared storage at the cluster level).
- As I understand it, in a cluster, this would not work.
- The above-linked portion of the documentation re: Guests doesn't proscribe it, but also doesn't say it's possible.
- The actual Migrate dialog box contains an option to destroy the "source" after the migration is complete.
Delete Source), which is enabled by default. So, I'm guessing that what happens is some variation of "copy from source to destination, verify copy, then delete original," possibly with some sort of FS freeze operation on the guest being moved.
I also suspect it uses
sftp, scp, or some other modern file transfer protocol, so it can be file system agnostic (it doesn't have to care about what kind of file system is on the source or destination).Is that what's happening? if not, how does it actually work.
I'm not just asking because I want to know. I'd also like to open an enhancement request to add additional explanation to the documentation about what's required for migration to work/how it works, so it's clear that shared storage is or is not required. I'd like to contribute a first draft of that explanation with the enhancement request, so I want to make sure I actually understand it well enough to do that.
For me personally, I'd also like to add a note about whether or not it's possible use PDM to migrate the VM PDM is running inside from one cluster to another one. Even if that somehow works, I can't imagine it's fully seamless, especially if there's a filesystem freeze.