opened a new thread: USB 3.0 speed slow - I was wrong it is the Ethernet Port--- But now?

lemonbiter

Sep 3, 2023
Germany
Hi there
I am new to proxmox and no expert to linux at all. So please consider me a child that needs someone to take his hand...
I am using a USB device that is bound directly to a VM that runs openmediavault. Before that I had connected the device on linux directly to the pve as ZFS. In any case the write speed to that disk is only 21-23 MB/s. When I connect the USB Drive to my Windows Computer write speed is 100 MB/s ...
I have read the whole internet and found, there are several people facing this issue, but I could not find a way on my low level of experience to fix it.

Since I connected it both ways (direct USB bound) as SMB share and ZFS to the PVE direct - and speed is the same, I assume the way of connection may not be the issue...
My PM is on the latest NUC 13th generation.
I watched the status of the cores, the network and memory of the Openmediavault and before the PVE... there are no performance issues.
Network, cores and memory turn the thumbs and are bored.

Anyone out there taking my hand?
Thanks

LEM

Go to your PVE console and post the ouput of the following command in CODE tags:

Code:
lsusb -t

(If it's not installed, just install with apt install usbutils)
Thanks LnxBil

here is the outcome:

Code:
/:  Bus 04.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/3p, 20000M/x2
/:  Bus 03.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/1p, 480M
/:  Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/4p, 10000M
    |__ Port 2: Dev 2, If 0, Class=Mass Storage, Driver=usbfs, 5000M
/:  Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=xhci_hcd/12p, 480M

So, the device has the maximum possible speed, that's good. Can you check if you also have a USB3 device emulated inside of your guest OS? If not, the numbers would make sense for an emulated usb 2 controller.