Oh no! "Error: checksum verification failed. Entering rescue mode ..."

jbannow

Nov 12, 2019
New to ProxMox, only installed it a few weeks ago. Last night, it locked up and I had to do a hard reboot. Upon rebooting, it comes up to:

"Error: checksum verification failed.
Entering rescue mode ..."

Tried rebooting and obviously it comes up to the same prompt.

ProxMox should be running on the latest version (ran updates within the last week.)

I'm pretty new to ProxMox and Linux systems in general. Any pointers on how to recover from this would be really appreciated.

Hi,

were you using ZFS? You could try to boot the installer ISO, select "Debug" mode, skip the first shell prompt, and on the second one try:
Code:
zpool import
and post the results.
Maybe you had a failed disk.

Reactions: jbannow
Seems like the RAID arrays are OK?

Thanks for the assistance BTW!

Last edited:
Seems like the RAID arrays are OK?
Yes, it really seems that way, which is good news.

So, the next thing I suspect is a broken grub/bootloader, whyever that happened. I mean grub's support for ZFS is somewhat shaky, and using (U)EFI boot mode for new installations is recommended (just as pointer for other reading this, or if you setup a new PVE sometime in the future).

Do you see the initial GRUB bootmenu?

You may want to check out:
https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/grub-rescue-checksum-verification-failed.39143/#post-193794
https://forum.proxmox.com/threads/grub-rescue-error-checksum-verification-failed.52730/#post-248073

Maybe @fabian has an idea, he spend quite a bit of time with ZFS+GRUB :)

if this is a PVE 6.x install, I highly recommend using UEFI boot instead of legacy/BIOS.