Not able to use pveceph purge to completely remove ceph

daniel1e6

Oct 31, 2019
I'm new to Proxmox... and Linux. Trying to completely remove ceph and I cannot. Tried pveceph purge after stopping all services and got this message below. I originally installed, uninstalled, then reinstalled Ceph because I wasn't able to add a second NVMe drive from each of the three servers which are currently on the same cluster. I had to install it the second time from the terminal. After a clean install, I discovered that the old monitors were not deleted and didn't work. I couldn't seem to delete them. When I tried to purge, it wouldn't let me (message above).

1572511998930.png

I also tried apt remove, apt autoremove, some level of upgrade. Nothing seemed to work and I couldn't seem to remove ceph-mon. Any ideas on how to completely remove this would be greatly appreciated. My next step is a fresh install of Proxmox on all 3 servers, which I'm trying to avoid.

'pveceph purge' purges the packages, but not the monitors.

So, a bit of a raw and rough approach to get you out of this could be
Code:
## stop all remaining ceph-services
# systemctl stop ceph-mon.target
# systemctl stop ceph-mgr.target
# systemctl stop ceph-mds.target
# systemctl stop ceph-osd.target

# avoid that they're being restarted by systemd the next boot (the low level way)
# rm -rf /etc/systemd/system/ceph*

## be really sure they're stopped:
killall -9 ceph-mon ceph-mgr ceph-mds

## then do
# rm -rf /var/lib/ceph/mon/  /var/lib/ceph/mgr/  /var/lib/ceph/mds/ 

## then retry purge
# pveceph purge

Reactions: Be_Sure
Good morning. This seemed promising and is good to know for future issues. However, it didn't work in this situation. Here's what I got. Thanks!

Capture.png