Newbie: setting up Intel NUC with PVE and Ubuntu

gctwnl

Aug 24, 2022
I have been using the Unixy underlayer of macOS (Darwin) for many years and I have been running a server based on macOS for the last 20 years. So, I am somewhat technical. I am moving away from this (macOS is no longer reliable enough for this). I am running:
  • nsd/unbound (in a complex setup with split-DNS and two parallel unbounds, one forwarding, one non-forwarding (for rspamd))
  • Mail server (postfix, dovecot (nonstandard: apns-capable) , rspamd, etc.)
  • Nginx (web server, and SSL termination for MinIO)
  • 6 MinIO services on localhost, forwarded via nginx. Each MinIo service supports Duplicati for an external user
The old setup has an internal disk that is one half boot+data disk and one half TimeMachine backup (which runs permanently if you mount the thing during boot via /etc/fstab). Next to that, there is a backup system running to an externally connected TB3 SSD as well as to offsite storage. The external users use the MinIO services and these store their data on on external mirror RAID.

I've decided to move to an Intel NUC (10i5/1TB/16GB (oversized, yes)) with Proxmox 2.7 and Ubuntu 22.4.1LTS VM(s) for the new server. I've secured the NUC hardware (boot password, SSD hardware encrypted), installed PVE and installed one Ubuntu Server VM to work as the host for nginx/MinIO.

Virtualisation is new for me. Ubuntu is new for me every command line command is different almost). I am in a steep learning curve missing even some basic things. I am at this stage wondering about the following and could use some tips: