newbee network principle question - multiple nics - howto?

iPanini

Mar 30, 2019
Hi dear people,

I'm completely new to Proxmox, so I wonder if I'm misundertanding the network setup.
F.I. Before I used a Slackware based distro that was configured to be the linux equivalent of a NT4 server. (samba domain controller)
However this system is not kept up-to-date so people advised to go with Proxmox instead.

What was my idea?
- basic system
- 3 physical network cards
- eth0 => connected with internet (range 192.168.1.n)
- eth1 <= connected with switch => running DHCP server for all network computers (range 192.168.2.n)
- eth2 <= running DHCP server different subnet (special separate network for domotica, IoT etc)

Unfortunately I don't succeed in registering the network adapters the way I described?

Can Proxmox be configured this way?
Or are all network adapters bridged to a single adapter?

Thanks for helping out!

It can be done but a bit differently.
First If all do not expose your host to internet. You either need to put a firewall between the host and inet or load a firewall on the host or run it as a vm on the host.
That said...
1. Choose what nic doong what. Which you have.
2. Crate a bridge for each nic. I.e .vmbr0
Vmbr1 and vmbr2.
FYI use vmbr0 for the system as it is a default bridge. So eth0 on vmbr0 is for host use. It is connected to local lan
2. Eth1 on vmbr1 is your wan. Nothing is connect it directly to that bridge except either hosts firewall with nat or iptable etc or a pfsense or a like. Which also will connect to the vmbr0 as lan side.

Once you are this up you can add the firewall vm lan ip as main gateway .Now your host has connection to internet and supports local lan for internet access and dhcp dns server services.
Setup lime pfsense can support multi scope dhcp. Hence you setup dhcp scope on 1 lan and second on 2nd lan port.