new to proxmx - how do i add an existing image ?

e-ferrari

Oct 10, 2024
Hi Forum,
i'm new to proxmox. About LVM i know something, but not about thin provisioning.
What i want:
import virtual machines from a qemu/KVM/libvirt instance.
What i did:
I created a virtual machine inside proxmox, it has id 100.
I have a LVM thin pool called "data", it resides in a volume group "pve".
In the thin pool i have a logical volume "vm_s", formatted with ext4 and mounted.
In the web interface i have two storages: local and local-lvm. I see local-lvm with the correct size
but it's empty. local-lvm ist the storage-ID. I copied the image (raw file) from the qemu/KVM/libvirt instance to the logical volume "vm_s".
In the web interface proxmox recognizes that the image-file occupies disk space, but it does not show the file.
I named the file "vm-100-disk-1.raw". Is that correct ? Does it have to be directly in the lv, or in a subfolder "100" ?
I edited /etc/pve/qemu-server/100.conf and played around with the volume id.
Currently it looks:
virtio0: local-lvm:data/vm-100-disk-1.raw,format=raw

But i get two errors when changing the volume id:
"lvm name 'data/vm-100-disk-1.raw' contains illegal characters" or
"no such logical volume pve/vm-100-disk-1.raw".

Is the name for the image file correct?
Is it correct that i created a logical volume in the thin pool ?
Is it correct that i copied the image file to the lv in the thin pool, not to the thin-pool directly ?
How does the correct volume-ID looks like ?

Thanks.

Bernd

Hi @e-ferrari , welcome to the forum.
In the thin pool i have a logical volume "vm_s", formatted with ext4 and mounted.
mounted where?
I see local-lvm with the correct size
this is raw storage pool. volumes will be carved out from it as necessary
I named the file "vm-100-disk-1.raw". Is that correct ?
it correct for raw files. Examine your file with "qemu-img info [filename]" to learn more about its structure