New Proxmox host - network configuration

KennethD

Apr 8, 2022
Hi all

I am completely new to Proxmox and have just installed my first host. Its an IBM server with multiple NICS, and i have some issues with understanding the way proxmox sets up the NICS. I am unable to connect to the host at the address i setup (https://192.168.1.127:8006).
Basically i just want a setup with a NIC going to my management VLAN (192.168.1.130) and another NIC going to my Homelab Network.

I have tried to modify /etc/network/interfaces to reflect this, but no matter what, i cannot ping my Proxmox server.
This is what i currently have in interfaces:

Code:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

iface enx2542cd5624ffbt inet auto

iface eno1 inet auto

iface eno2 inet static
   address 192.168.1.130/24
   gateway 192.168.1.1
   netmask 255.255.255.0
   gateway 192.168.1.1

iface ens1f0 inet manual

iface ens1f1 inet manual

iface eth0 inet auto

iface eth1 inet auto

I have added eth0+1 to see if dynamic ip was working, but no luck.

I have read some of the network config documentation from Proxmox, but that did not solve my problem sadly.
Can anyone help with a standard network configuration, that will allow me to connect to the server at least?

Any help here will be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

iface eno2 inet static
address 192.168.1.130/24
gateway 192.168.1.1
netmask 255.255.255.0
gateway 192.168.1.1
That looks weird because of duplicates. Please try this for eno2:
iface eno2 inet static address 192.168.1.130/24 gateway 192.168.1.1 dns-nameserver 192.168.1.1
And make sure the ethernet cable is connected to the port of eno2.

EDIT: The output of ip a and ip r might be useful for troubleshooting.

Thanks for the reply.
I simple do not understand the way Proxmox seem to configure the network. Also, it appears to ignore what i configure in /etc/network/interfaces.
I will do a clean install i think, and post the /etc/network/interfaces config here... give me 10 minutes.