[SOLVED] Setting up multiple nic Network and routing on Proxmox

Ultraformer

Jan 5, 2021
Just install my Proxmox server. My server has a dual Nic. Each nic port is connected to a VLAN switch port that serves two separate VLANs (port 2 for VLAN 10, port 3 for VLAN 100). The topology is below:
topology.png
Here is what is on the console
console.png
on the GUI
GUI.png
and in the /etc/network/interfaces
interface.png

I am building VMs for both VLANs. The router will be doing all the routing between the VLANS. Questions I have:

1, Do I need to manually enable eno2? (when there is a link light on the switch.) Do I need to assign an IP address to eno2?
2, Do I need to add a static route for each VLAN on the host?
3. When I try to create a VMBR1 for 192.168.100.x network, the GUL failed and said the GW already exists. How can I make that work?
- can I just copy the VMBR0 config and modify it for the 192.168.100.x network?

Thank you very much for any help. I am new to Proxmox and did not need to do resolve networking when I was using VMware. Just trying to get a sense of what I should be doing.

Last edited:
You do need to create VMBR1 for 192.168.100.x. Doing that will enable device eno2. Although it is not intuitively obvious, the trick is to leave the gateway field blank on VMBR1. If you don't have the network up down installed, you will have to reboot the node to apply the network changes.

I don't have an in depth understanding, but I think there can only be one gateway per node. I'm not sure about the cross network routing. Anytime I have used a VPN, the traffic has remained contained to the VPN network on the switch.

Proxmox does have VPN support as part of it's networking but since I have never done it I can only point out that it exists and refer you to the documentation.

Reactions: Ultraformer