New install of 5.3

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by digitalbots, Dec 7, 2018.

  1. digitalbots

    digitalbots New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    THE PROBLEM:
    I'm not able to:
    1. Display the Admin-GUI via HTTPS <my-ip>:8006. (I get a "took too long to respond" message on my Chrome, Firefox, and IExplorer).
    2. I can not ping this box from any machine
    3. I can not ping out from this Proxmox server


    That says, there is an Internet connection available that the server is able to use for updating and installing packs.

    Current network topography:
    • My router is a Motorola (not sure model)
    • My proxmox is connected via ethernet (wired) to my private network (dd-wrt router)
    • My Laptop that has Proxmox is wired connected to my private
    • All of my PCs are in the same subnet: 192.168.1.x/24: (laptop = 192.168.1.22), and all machines on my network are on the following rang 192.168.1.100-255
    Code:
    /etc/network/interfaces:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    iface eno1 inet manual
    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static (also tried with dhcp with no improvement)
    address 192.168.1.22
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1


    Code:
    /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost
    192.168.1.22 proxmox.levyhome.local

    Code:
    /etc/hostname
    PROXMOX

    This is my first time installing proxmox. I 'm very excited about this experience, but it is being hard to start working with this. I haven't created my first VM yet! :(

    Please, guys. I've seen a lot of posts with a similar topic (not only in this forum) and none of the cases I've studied matches with my current situation.

    I hope I can get your help on this matter to find a solution.

    Thanks in advance!
     
    #1 digitalbots, Dec 7, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018
  2. Dark26

    Dark26 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2017
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    2
    i think your problem is here :

    Code:
    /etc/network/interfaces:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    iface eno1 inet manual
    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static (also tried with dhcp with no improvement)
    address 192.168.1.22
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    you have the network interface ( en01 ), the bridge ( vmbr0) but the network interface isn't in the bridge configuration


    you shoulfdhave something like that

    Code:
    iface eno1 inet manual
    
    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static
            address  192.168.1.101
            netmask  255.255.255.0
            gateway  192.168.1.254
            bridge_ports eno1
            bridge_stp off
            bridge_fd 0
     
  3. digitalbots

    digitalbots New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    so in reinstalled the OS on my laptop this time unplugging the wifi to make sure I didnt select the wrong interface. Did the updates like you said which are below. Still no connection.

    /etc/network/interfaces:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    iface ens5f5 inet manual
    auto vmbr0
    iface vmbr0 inet static
    address 192.168.1.22
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    bridge_ports ens5f5
    bridge_stp off
    bridge_fd 0
     
  4. digitalbots

    digitalbots New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, i booted to a Ubuntu live CD and my nic does work. So this looks like it could be a driver issue with Promox. any input would be helpful to get this up and running
     
  5. Stoiko Ivanov

    Stoiko Ivanov Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    32
    PVE 5.x uses (a slightly patched) Ubuntu bionic kernel - so unless your laptop has a NIC, which is only supported in cosmic and newer, that probably is not the issue.

    * Check the output of:
    `ip link` (LOWER_UP in a line next to an interface indicates that the NIC has a link and is connected)
    `ip addr`
    `dmesg` (if there are issues with the nic/driver it probably would write into dmesg)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice