network problem on win vm

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by Stefano Giunchi, Sep 5, 2018.

  1. Stefano Giunchi

    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a cluster with proxmox 4.4.
    Three nodes, two IBM x3400 and a small PC. The two IBM host ceph data, the third is only monitor.

    I added another server, HP DL380 G7, installed Proxmox 5.2 on it and joined to the cluster (still not ceph).
    I will later upgrade the other servers.

    I have a problem with some Windows Server VMs, when I migrate them to the new server they start losing pings. A particular VM, with Win2008r2, loses 80% of pings. Linux VMs have no problems.
    If I migrate back the VM to IBM, it doesn't lose any ping.

    I tried to replace the virtual nic from E1000 to RTL3189.
    The node has 2 nics (NetXtreme BCM5709) in bonding. I tried to disconnect one cable to exclude problems with bonding.

    Any other suggestion?
     
  2. menk

    menk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    try virtio driver for nic inside virtual machine...
     
  3. Stefano Giunchi

    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    I will try that. I did read that VirtIO network drivers are the best for Linux VM but not windows.
     
  4. menk

    menk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
  5. mailinglists

    mailinglists Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    33
    Might be related to lower networking layer.
    When testing check out ARP table on both sides (maybe also on the switch), as well as capture network traffic.
    Capturing network traffic will allow you to pinpoint the cause of the problem.
    On Linux use tcpdump, on Windows there is Wireshark, I think.

    I do not think network drivers will help, but hopefully they will.
     
  6. Stefano Giunchi

    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry for my late reply.
    It was a bonding issue, I did setup it in RR mode. Once it has been changed to ALB mode, everything worked perfectly.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice