Need Help Setting Up New Server and Transferring my Old

Danielc1234

Jan 10, 2010
Hi all. Love Proxmox!!! What a great software.

We currently have one server running all our centos 5, php, apache, mysql and a simple email server. We have around 15 domains on it and are heavy php and mysql hogs.

My question is what is going to be the best setup for my new server running the Proxmox VT server?

My new system has 300gb @ 10,000rpm...running raid 10, i7 chip, 12gb memory, etc.
So I was hoping to find the most optimized and best way to set up the new server with what configurations would be best for my scenario.

I would love to hear any ideas or suggestions.
Thanks

Raid10 seems to be the nicest compromise between speed and redundancy, but you need 4 disks and you can only use half the capacity.

I tend to always have a separate disk outside of raid for log files and swap, things like that that aren't particularly mission critical.

Feel free to discard this - I am not an expert by any stretch. I am the guy who has managed to destroy the production server twice :)

This is good to know, but I still need to get some help with my initial setup! I dont want to start off with a bad setup and then have to deal with it later.

Hi all. Love Proxmox!!! What a great software.

We currently have one server running all our centos 5, php, apache, mysql and a simple email server. We have around 15 domains on it and are heavy php and mysql hogs.

My question is what is going to be the best setup for my new server running the Proxmox VT server?

My new system has 300gb @ 10,000rpm...running raid 10, i7 chip, 12gb memory, etc.
So I was hoping to find the most optimized and best way to set up the new server with what configurations would be best for my scenario.

I would love to hear any ideas or suggestions.
Thanks
Hi,
how big is your raid? Is 300gb one disk or do you have 4 * 147GB-disks in raid-10?
Are the VMs all (or most) openvz? Or kvm?

Udo