NAT from real ip

thefatrogers

Jul 16, 2023
Hello,

This is my first time trying to setup proxmox VE, I want to route traffic to VMs via one real IP i have.

I did the following to my /etc/network/interfaces:

Bash:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto ens2f0
iface ens2f0 inet static
        address xxx.xxx.105.45/29
        gateway xxx.xxx.105.41

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 10.0.0.1/16
        bridge-ports none
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

post-up   echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
        post-up   iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s '10.0.0.0/16' -o ens2f0 -j MASQUERADE
        post-down iptables -t nat -D POSTROUTING -s '10.0.0.0/16' -o ens2f0 -j MASQUERADE

Then I installed Ubuntu VM,
Did the network setup for the VM in the shown attachment,

from the VM i can ping to 10.0.0.1 But it doesn't reach the internet, what could cause the problem? how do I make it work. Thanks!

Attachments

• Screenshot at Jul 17 02-40-59.png
    Screenshot at Jul 17 02-40-59.png
    26.1 KB · Views: 7
Last edited:
Hello,

This is my first time trying to setup proxmox VE, I want to route traffic to VMs via one real IP i have.

I did the following to my /etc/network/interfaces:

Bash:
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto ens2f0
iface ens2f0 inet static
        gateway xxx.xxx.105.41

auto vmbr0
iface vmbr0 inet static
        address 10.0.0.1/16
        bridge-ports none
        bridge-stp off
        bridge-fd 0

post-up   iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s '10.0.0.0/16' -o ens2f0 -j MASQUERADE
        post-down iptables -t nat -D POSTROUTING -s '10.0.0.0/16' -o ens2f0 -j MASQUERADE

Then I installed Ubuntu VM,
Did the network setup for the VM in the shown attachment,

from the VM i can ping to 10.0.0.1 But it doesn't reach the internet, what could cause the problem? how do I make it work. Thanks!
Hi,
do you have the PVE Firewall enabled? Maybe you need the conntrack zones as described in the docs [0] for the outgoing connections.