Issue with nvidia driver install for passthrough

lpereira

Nov 20, 2022
I'm a newbie trying to install NVIDIA drivers to use the graphic card for transcoding in plex.
I was able to follow this guide https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-HCzLhnNf-A and https://www.reddit.com/r/homelab/comments/b5xpua/the_ultimate_beginners_guide_to_gpu_passthrough/, however I'm stuck when I try to install the driver for my NVIDIA.

First I'm not sure If I choosen the device correctly to passthrough
Code:
root@pve:~# lspci -nnv | grep VGA
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller [8086:0166] (rev 09) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
root@pve:~# lspci -nnv | grep NVIDIA
01:00.0 3D controller [0302]: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 740M] [10de:0fdf] (rev a1)
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation GK107 HDMI Audio Controller [10de:0e1b] (rev ff) (prog-if ff)

I picked the 3D controller but it seems not working
Code:
administrator@plex:~$ nvidia-smi
NVIDIA-SMI has failed because it couldn't communicate with the NVIDIA driver. Make sure that the latest NVIDIA driver is installed and running.

Currently my NVIDIA is this (without any kernel in use)
Code:
00:10.0 3D controller: NVIDIA Corporation GK107M [GeForce GT 740M] (rev a1)
    Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. GK107M [GeForce GT 740M]
    Physical Slot: 16
    Flags: fast devsel, IRQ 11
    Memory at fd000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
    Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
    Memory at f0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=32M]
    I/O ports at e000 [size=128]
    Expansion ROM at fe400000 [disabled] [size=512K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel modules: nvidiafb, nouveau, nvidia_drm, nvidia

Code:
sudo ./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-418.113.run

produces the error

Code:
-> Installing DKMS kernel module:
ERROR: Failed to run `/usr/sbin/dkms build -m nvidia -v 418.113 -k 5.15.0-53-generic`: