io error on Truenas VM

Bronz

Mar 6, 2023
Hello, Im newbie here just got into proxmox and im trying to build a homeserver using a on old laptop (HP Pavilion dv6-7080ee) for simple smb file sharing and some movies database (normal file sharing and Jellfin each on separate VMs). I am using 4 external usb hdd 3 500GB 1 1TB , i found a tutorial on how to HDD passthrought without HBA, I occasionally encounter io error and truenas is stuck until I stop the VM and start it again. This happens after 1-2 days of runtime of the VM.

Did you run smartctl -a /dev/yourDisk to see how healthy your disks are? In case of 3.5" HDDs they can get really hot when running 24/7. Also make sure not to stack them, as vibrations can cause write/read errors too.

Hi,
apart from what @Dunuin said, I'd also check /var/log/syslog from around the time the issue occurs. There might be related messages telling you more. Please also share the output of qm config <ID> for the affected VM and pveversion -v.

Did you run smartctl -a /dev/yourDisk to see how healthy your disks are? In case of 3.5" HDDs they can get really hot when running 24/7. Also make sure not to stack them, as vibrations can cause write/read errors too.
Hello Dunuin, i attached the output and yes they are not stacked.

Attachments

• smartctl.txt
    22.9 KB · Views: 6
Hi,
apart from what @Dunuin said, I'd also check /var/log/syslog from around the time the issue occurs. There might be related messages telling you more. Please also share the output of qm config <ID> for the affected VM and pveversion -v.
Hello Fiona, thanks for the reply too. The syslog was too large to be uploaded so i had to omit the recurring message log " Mar 04 00:00:47 proxmox kernel: CIFS: VFS: \\192.168.178.29\HomeServer BAD_NETWORK_NAME: \\192.168.178.29\HomeServer " in order to be able to upload the text file. I also included qmconfig output and pveversion -v in the same text file.

Attachments

• Syslog.txt
    46.8 KB · Views: 6