[SOLVED] IO delay - how to find out reason for?

Tobias.F

Dec 12, 2023
Hello,

I am running into issues with corrupted data in VM. I am quite new to Proxmox and do not know how to search to find the reason for as I did a couple of changes in my system.

In my home system, I migrated my VMs from Hyper-V to Proxmox on the same hardware some weeks ago. All was running fine. I changed Mainboard, CPU and RAM to a more powerful set-up some days ago. All is running fine under "normal" load. When I did some intensive data operations (backup via Windows VM to local data store), after a while, I noticed slow data transfer abortion or the backup program. The backup VM was hanging, reacting slow and crashed one time. On another VM got some corrupted data. On Proxmox I noticed IO delay up to 90%. Proxmox itself was running stable all the time. Disk status and ZFS status is shown as OK. No hint I can find in the logs.

simplified setup description
  • consumer SATA SSD - ZFS: Proxmox 8.1.3
  • consumer NVME - ZFS: VMs
  • SAS HDD - ZFS Mirror: Data (Target of data operations)
My current assumption for root cause is that the NVME with VM is overheating. Same NVME, housing and cooler I use since years. But the new system now can "stress" it more as the old one. In the Windows VM logs I can see disk access errors. Incompatibility of NVME with the mainboard is an other assumption.

Any idea where to search to find the root cause?

You could check with iotop, iostat or zpool iostat what disk is overwhelmed.
My guess would be those HDDs who are slowing everything down.

But consumer SSD, especially when used with ZFS, could also be terrible slow when hitting them with sync writes or simply continous async writes for kore then a few seconds. Especially if those are conumer QLC SSDs.

Show yor VM-s configuration.
Do you have enable virtio drivers on VM-s?
Have you checked your disk temperatures? Show smartctl -x /dev/your_device