[SOLVED] How to boot uploaded iso from virtual CD ROM

Klaus_K

Sep 6, 2022
Hi, I'm totally new to Proxmox so please accept my apologies if this is a a dumb question. I have successfully installed Proxmox 7.1-7 and managed to upload an ISO image to the server. As a next step, I would like to boot off this ISO in order to install Fedora. Unfortunately, I can't seem to find any way of either exposing the BIOS at boot-up (which would allow me to change the boot order), or modify the boot order in any other way. I understand that Proxmox tends to favour command line operations and I have managed to SSH into the server, but I don't know how to get beyond this point. I see that BOOT FROM ISO is a known tag on the forum, so I'm guessing that this is a regular topic. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to find anything by searching this forum - probably my bad :-(

Last edited:
I have done that (see screeenshot below) but it doesn't seem to be booting from the ISO. Instead, it goes straight to the noVNC splash screen, with an error message "Failed to connect to server" (second screen shot). The BIOS is set to "Default (SeaBIOS)". Hope this helps - and thanks for the quick response :)

Attachments

• Screenshot 2022-09-07 at 13.41.15.png
    Screenshot 2022-09-07 at 13.41.15.png
    68.4 KB · Views: 35
  • Screenshot 2022-09-07 at 13.38.29.png
    Screenshot 2022-09-07 at 13.38.29.png
    88.6 KB · Views: 37
It's a Fedora Live iso, which I have used before in several other contexts. Freshly downloaded from the Fedora website. I guess it's possible that the image is damaged (e.g. truncated). Just checked the checksum (sic) and it matches the required value.

Last edited:
It's possible. Best practice is to check the checksum after downloading, which is usually provided next to the iso. Maybe do this first or give it another shot with a download.