[SOLVED] How i can remove directory-entry from gui?

Discussion in 'Proxmox VE: Installation and configuration' started by fireon, Dec 22, 2018.

  1. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Hello all,

    i've tested something with an HDD. I've created in the GUI an EXT4 disk and added this automatically to the storage's. So i would delete it. But there is no button for removing directories. On CMD i also nothing found about. Only the file "/etc/pve/.rrd" there is this entry, but this file is not variable.

    Screenshot attached.

    Thanks :)
     

    Attached Files:

    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,460
    Likes Received:
    310
    This is a manual system administration task (console).
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    I didn't understand. I searched for:
    Code:
    grep -R -i /mnt/pve/testdir /etc/
    /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/mnt-pve-testdir.mount:Where=/mnt/pve/testdir
    /etc/systemd/system/mnt-pve-testdir.mount:Where=/mnt/pve/testdir
    
    Also in the pve-doc's.
    I disabled the service and unount the target:
    Code:
    systemctl disable mnt-pve-testdir.mount
    umount /mnt/pve/testdir
    I also unpluged the hdd from the server but nothing, the entry didn't go away.

    Thanks :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,460
    Likes Received:
    310
    Maybe it is still mounted? Check /proc/mounts
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    No, not mounted.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    A reboot of the machine didn't help. Disk was was removed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. dietmar

    dietmar Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2005
    Messages:
    16,460
    Likes Received:
    310
    Just verified the code, but what you describe is not really possible - at least I can't see how that happens. Maybe it is a browser problem? Already tried to clear the browser cache, or used another browser?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Hi Dietmar,

    What should i say... it's there. Removed the firefoxconfig, and tested with fresh chromium. Same problem. Proxmox will mount the disk. But the disk was removed. No enry in the file "/etc/pve/.rrd".

    Nothing:
    Code:
    grep -R -i /mnt/pve/testdir /etc/
    grep: /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/snmpd.service: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
    grep: /etc/systemd/system/multi-user.target.wants/pve-manager.service: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
    /etc/systemd/system/mnt-pve-testdir.mount:Where=/mnt/pve/testdir
    grep: /etc/ssl/certs/startcom-ca2.pem: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
    grep: /etc/fonts/conf.d/70-no-bitmaps.conf: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
    
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. Gizmo_RA2

    Gizmo_RA2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have the same problem, I have removed the drive, and the mount point, pvesm remove <directory>, vgchange -a n <directory>, vgremove <directory>, rebooted the server, still shows up under directories in the web gui
     
  10. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Thanks a lot for the information, so i'am not alone with :eek::)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. dcsapak

    dcsapak Proxmox Staff Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2016
    Messages:
    3,617
    Likes Received:
    329
    did you delete the systemd mount unit file?
    /etc/systemd/system/mnt-pve-testdir.mount
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    Deepen Dhulla and Gizmo_RA2 like this.
  12. fireon

    fireon Well-Known Member
    Proxmox Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,982
    Likes Received:
    182
    Thanks a lot, this is the trick. After deleted the file and reload systemd the entry was gone. So maybe something is missing in that process?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  13. Gizmo_RA2

    Gizmo_RA2 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Confirmed, that solved it, thank you so much :) didn't even have to reload anything
     
    Deepen Dhulla likes this.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice