How do I setup my proxmox 4 host and vm / container to be connected to the outside world?

zustudios

Renowned Member
Dec 13, 2015
Hi. I'm new to proxmox. I have one public ip. I have one nic. I'm having a major problem. I can ssh and view my websites from another computer at my house but no one can ssh or view my websites from the out side world.
my host and vm/container have private ips but when I try and ssh into my host via my public ip I get connection time out. How do I setup my proxmox 4 host and vm / container to be connected to the outside world? It's like my host and vm/container don't exist in the outside world ,only I can see them.

proxmox 4 server1.png can't ssh or view website.png zu-host.com 2.png ssh root@zu-host.com.png Sorry for wrong forum post. Where does post like this one go? My host machine is in my router's dmz. I'm new so that's where I am so far. I want all ports open for my host machine and my vm / container. Every time I try and add an iptable I loose connection and have to delete the iptable and restart. When I try to reach my proxmox panel from another computer from my public ip it doesn't work. I have to use the private ip and then after one day I can't use the private ip until I restart. My domains point to my private ip per vm/container.

# network interface settings; autogenerated

# Please do NOT modify this file directly, unless you know what

# you're doing.

#

# If you want to manage part of the network configuration manually,

# please utilize the 'source' or 'source-directory' directives to do

# so.

# PVE will preserve these directives, but will NOT its network

# configuration from sourced files, so do not attempt to move any of

# the PVE managed interfaces into external files!

source /etc/network/interfaces.d/*

auto lo

iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface

allow-hotplug eth0

auto eth0

iface eth0 inet static

address 192.168.X.XXX

netmask 255.255.XXX.X

gateway 192.168.X.X