help

johndoe297

Jul 9, 2023
so i'm new to self hosting, and my goal was to set up a little home server with a few services, nothing too crazy. the config i decided to go with was proxmox base, with an lxc running ubuntu server with docker and portainer to manage my containers. which all worked fine. however, my problem is that i have two drives in my machine, an ssd, and an hdd. i'd like to keep all the boot type stuff on the ssd for speed, and use the hdd for mass storage. i tried creating a directory in the proxmox host and mounting it to the CT, which seemed to work, however neither portainer, nor any containers running in there could use that drive. i couldn't add a volume of it to portainer, and i couldn't add it to nextcloud external storage either. i ended up breaking the whole system with chown commands so i had to wipe it all and start over. so my question is;

can anyone walk me through the proper process to create that setup, or should i just create another CT or VM for an nfs or smb share and do it that way? i feel like it should be doable without that, but hey, i don't really know what i'm doing.

planned setup: lxc running ubuntu
then install docker
then install portainer
then use portainer to install and mgm CTs, particularly nextcloud which i'd like to keep the boot on the ssd, and mass media on the hdd. the other CTs are just small services like pihole, cloudflare tunnel, maybe a small web server or two which i don't care if they use the ssd, they won't use much space.

Least frustating way: Run something like OpenMediaVault in a VM, use disk passthrough to passthrough the HDD into that VM, share the HDD using SMB and then create a VM for your portainer where you then could mount that SMB share.

There are some things to keep in mind when working with LXCs:
1.) you can`t mount SMB/NFS shares inside unprivileged LXCs (only on the less secure privileged LXCs and only after enabling that feature)