Help! I forgot the info and can't get into my server

Knight0Light

Aug 23, 2023
Dear more experienced proxmoxers,
I come to you with a very stupid problem of entirely my own design:
A few month ago I got myself a little HP computer and decided to get a proxmox cloud environment running on it so that I could learn more about cloud systems and maintaining them. I am a complete beginner and it took a lot of trial and error, but I got it up and running with some unix VMs. I got some hardware upgrades for the server, then basically forgot about it for several months.
Now, I need a cloud environment again for a class I am taking, and have realized that I have lost the following:
- My proxmox server's IP address
- My proxmox server's netmask, gateway, and DNS addresses
- My proxmox server's admin username and password

The server itself boots up fine, and when connected to a monitor just displays "Start PXE over IPV4"
I have absolutely no idea how to get back into my proxmox server. Is there some way to recover this information? Do I need to reinstall the whole thing?
Please help me.
Thank you.

Last edited:
The message should show you the URL to connect to. Your username is root. Using a boot-repair guide to chroot into the existing system will allow you to set the root password again. The details will depend on your filesystem, but I hope this will get you started.

The message should show you the URL to connect to. Your username is root. Using a boot-repair guide to chroot into the existing system will allow you to set the root password again. The details will depend on your filesystem, but I hope this will get you started.
Apologies, but what message? The only message the server gives me when I plug it into a monitor does not contain an ip address. See attached image for details.
Knowing that I can change the root password again is helpful though, thank you.

Attachments

• 20230823_130931.jpg
    20230823_130931.jpg
    776.3 KB · Views: 7