Hardware Recommendation / Raid controller with operational web interface on proxmox

Trimmings

Nov 5, 2012
Hi, I'm looking for a recommendation here - I would have thought this is something a lot of people would be after given the requirement of proxmox to support hardware raid - a good hardware raid card 8 ports or more that runs on proxmox with a fully operational web interface.

Re: Hardware Recommendation / Raid controller with operational web interface on proxm

Hi, I'm looking for a recommendation here - I would have thought this is something a lot of people would be after given the requirement of proxmox to support hardware raid - a good hardware raid card 8 ports or more that runs on proxmox with a fully operational web interface.

I run 2 High Point 4320 using SATA drives. It supports SAS also. It has a separate ethernet port and is web accessible. I have been using these for 2 years without issue.

Re: Hardware Recommendation / Raid controller with operational web interface on proxm

I run 2 High Point 4320 using SATA drives. It supports SAS also. It has a separate ethernet port and is web accessible. I have been using these for 2 years without issue.

Thanks for the info - I'm looking at highpoint myself due to the web interface, I'm using it elsewhere and it's great. This looks like a good card but I'm not certain about spending $800 on a card with only sata2 support - I'm looking to run SSD's in raid1 so the card need not have a fast processor for parity work, but sata3 support is desireable.

I've read elsewhere in the forums the 2720SGL isn't supported but the spec sheet includes debian/redhat - all flavors of linux. I've already ordered one to give a crack at it, even perhaps to try with a debian first install then proxmox over the top.