Graduation Project - Boot into Virtual machine

ptbman

Feb 19, 2019
Hello,

I'm a Informatics Engineering student at Instituto Superior de Engenharia de Coimbra - Portugal.

For my graduation project, I'm trying to provide a laboratory having a few physical computers/hosts (workstations, not servers) wich should be able to run a different VM according to the discipline being lectured at the time.

All the computers (workstations running Win10, there are no servers allocated for this) are part of an Active Directory Domain at the time. After virtualization, this should be the primary VM, and if not told otherwise by the admin/teacher, it should boot into this one. The teacher should be able to allow/disallow the access to the VMs (running VM). Each workstation is supposed to mainly use their peripherals/ports (keyboard, mouse, screen, NICs, COM and/or USB ports) as a normal workstation, only running a different guest OS.

Using multiboot is not an option, because of the following requirements:
it gives no control to the teacher on the running OS
each VM is supposed to backup (snapshot, differencing Disks or whatever) after being used, so that if a student screws the VM, it should be easy to revert to the latest backup (snapshot, differencing Disks or whatever).
It should be somehow possible to have a golden image for each OS/VM that should be easily replaced/deployed to every machine (so I guess VMs are great for this)
Is it possible to answer this challenge with Proxmox? Are the any alternatives?

Thanks for your help.

Filipe Simões

I'm curious, have you already installed ProxmoxVE for testing purpose?
In general your idea could probably implemented, but probably not out of the box.
This will need some extra work from your side, which could be more or less depending on your requirements.