[SOLVED] Good day

MrReezyZA

Jan 9, 2023
I've just recently installed proxmox on my ancient laptop, installation was bumpy as i couldnt click on anything though i used tab and space bar technique, installation went smoothly up until then, set up my stuff(im brand new to this so i might not have a clue on what im doing) ive watched some youtube vids and tried following along the best i can.

My laptop is currently seated next to me hovering over "welcome to proxmox"
I've entered my https line, but then get thrown with xx.x.x.x:8006 refused to connect. I dont know if there is some port fowarding of some kind i need to be doing, or that my internet providers router even allows such a thing, i dont know, im completely at a loss here. although i havent given up i would still like to know what im doing wrong

i have a feeling it might be the port forwarding that's messing me around, or that i havent configured the proxmox correctly,
any advice on what to do next would be appreciated thank you! :)

Hi,
after a fresh installation, the proxmox WebUI should be reachable via https on port 8006 on the static ip address you defined during setup.
There is no port forwarding, but make sure to be connected to the same subnet as the machine from where you are trying to connect.

You can try to `ping` your machine and/or login to the proxmox machine on the cli and check your network configuration in `/etc/network/interfaces`.

Reactions: zombymumf