Frequent Watchdog reboots

ashab.tariq

Jul 22, 2024
I am relatively new to Proxmox and have a cluster running with 3 nodes, everything is currently working fine, cluster is up HA is running fine. The issue I face currently is that in case the cluster link goes down for let's say more than 10s, watchdog kicks in and reboots the server, this causes the cluster to go down and other nodes become in-accessible.

Solution i am seeking:
  1. Is there a way to disable watchdog service or increase timeout so that it never reboots the server.
  2. Add redundant link to existing cluster so that even if one link goes down, cluster remains up.
Thank you, this is my first post in any forum so please ignore or correct me if anything is beyond rules

I am relatively new to Proxmox and have a cluster running with 3 nodes, everything is currently working fine, cluster is up HA is running fine. The issue I face currently is that in case the cluster link goes down for let's say more than 10s, watchdog kicks in and reboots the server, this causes the cluster to go down and other nodes become in-accessible.

Solution i am seeking:
  1. Is there a way to disable watchdog service or increase timeout so that it never reboots the server.
  2. Add redundant link to existing cluster so that even if one link goes down, cluster remains up.
Thank you, this is my first post in any forum so please ignore or correct me if anything is beyond rules

You contradict yourself a bit here - if you have the said situation, your HA is not exactly running fine. Also, it should not been a link going down for just 10 seconds - how do you know / measure that?

The watchdog is unfortunately (with hardcoded values) part of the HA stack, you can disable the HA. You could theoretically have that watchdog specifically never set, but then how would you expect the HA to work?

Also note, there's at least one known bug with HA stack to be aware of if you disable it:
https://bugzilla.proxmox.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5243