Extreme high CPU Load and IO Delay issues with latest version of Proxmox VE

radensun

Jul 23, 2023
Dear All Experts,

I'm having high CPU Load and IO Delay issues on our 8 units of UCS C-Series server.
I've been using Proxmox VE since 2012 and using it on production with several types of servers and I've never had the IO Delay and CPU Load issues like with the current UCS server.

Previously, our server was using Proxmox VE versions 5 & 6, there was no indication of an IO Delay problem on the PVE Dashboard in that version. When we upgraded several servers (we tried the first 3 servers), we encountered this IO Delay problem. And we have tried many ways but we did not find a solution to this problem.

The impact of IO Delay and CPU load issues, memory utilities are not optimal, and data read/write throughput is only around 10-30 MB/s, even data transfers in the same server disk or between servers in a LAN network only get 10-30 MB throughput /s.

I have tried and confirmed several actions to deal with this, but did not find a solution, including:
1. Reconfigure RAID and Virtual Drives
2. Reset BIOS and CIMC (Cisco Server Controller) configurations
3. Upgrading BIOS and CIMC firmware
4. Replace the HDD with a new one, and also upgrade/downgrade the HDD firmware
5. Using JBOD mode without RAID
6. Manual installation of Debian 11/12 from APT installer
7. Tuning the system for IO delay issues
8. Ask support from CISCO community for UCS C-Series (because the managed service for our server was not available)

I also attach the output of the ATOP command which shows high DISK IO activity as the cause of the above issue, while the SAS HDD is in new condition.

I hope there is a solution from Proxmox VE experts regarding the issue that I experienced. Thank You.

best regards,

Sunardi

Attachments

• 2023-07-09_171337.jpg
    2023-07-09_171337.jpg
    408.9 KB · Views: 34
  • 2023-07-09_174603.jpg
    2023-07-09_174603.jpg
    159.9 KB · Views: 37
  • 2023-07-09_174752.jpg