[SOLVED] Ethernet port not functioning after install ...

Nifelheim

Jan 5, 2022
Hi all,
I am a relative newbie to virtualization (having dabbled with VirtualBox) and just wanted to try out a type 1 hypervisor.
For this purpose, I put together a "mini-server" (GIGABYTE BRIX, AMD Ryzen 7, 32 GB RAM, 2 TB SSD), downloaded the latest version of Proxmox and put the image on a USB stick.

The install went fine ... it connected to the local DHCP server (my Fritz!Box) and got an IP4 address assigned - so up to this point, the ethernet port is definitely working.

After installing, I reboot the server and it boots up. I can log in at the CLI as root.

"ip a" shows me the following interfaces:

1: lo: LOOPBACK (state UNKNOWN)
2: enp2s0: BROADCAST, MULTICAST (state DOWN)
3: wl01: BROADCAST, MULTICAST (state DOWN)

From the MAC address, I can see that it used enp2s0 during the install (it showed on my Fritz!Box with the expected IP address shown on the installation screen).

Since the ethernet port is not active, I can not easily extract log files (since I can SSH to the server and the server has no connection to the outside world).

The daemon.log shows some failed task (e.g. "ifupdown2-pre-service: Main process exited, code=exited, status =1/FAILURE" or "Dependency failed for Network initialization.").

This is now where I am lost. I did search the forum, but did not find any post that seems to fit my issue.

So my questions are:
1.) Is there anything that I am obviously doing wrong?
2.) What else could I try to get the ethernet port to work?

Any help would be appreciated.

Cheers,
Nifelheim

Last edited:
Hi,

So my questions are:
1.) Is there anything that I am obviously doing wrong?
2.) What else could I try to get the ethernet port to work?

Could you please post the output of the below commands from your Proxmox VE host:

Bash:
ip a
cat /etc/network/interfaces

First of all, thank you for your help!