[SOLVED] Dell H200 IT Mode - No disks

Coffeeri

Jun 8, 2019
Hello Forum!
I bought a Dell Perc H200 flashed into IT mode (LSI 9211-8I IT-MODE) from ebay. I thought it would be a plug and play in my Dell T610. But unfortunately no drives show up in lsblk nor fdisk -l.
He said he used it before in a Fujutsu RX300.

lspci -vmmnn gives me amongst others:

Slot: 06:00.0
Class: Serial Attached SCSI controller [0107]
Vendor: LSI Logic / Symbios Logic [1000]
Device: SAS2008 PCI-Express Fusion-MPT SAS-2 [Falcon] [0072]
SVendor: Dell [1028]
SDevice: 6Gbps SAS HBA Adapter [1f1c]
Rev: 03

What might be the problem? I am a newbie to Servers and just wanted an HBA to run my Disks in ZFS.
Thanks for your help!

Did you use the Storage PCIe Slot in the T610? If yes, try to use a regular one and recheck.

Have you already checked the Controller BIOS? Maybe there is something wrong.

Did you use the Storage PCIe Slot in the T610? If yes, try to use a regular one and recheck.
I actually put it first into the Storage PCIe Slot - it wouldn't boot at all. It sits now in another PCIe Slot.

Have you already checked the Controller BIOS? Maybe there is something wrong.
It does not show up on boot, where other cards show "press Ctrl-c to configure". When I go into the Bios settings, I am not sure which option might be relevant. I see under "PCI IRQ Assignment" → "Slot 2 Dell inc adapter....... Default" (the h200 card is actually in PCIe slot 2).

So I did a reflash
* Downloaded FreeDOS and put it on usb stick using rufus
* Copied the Firmware https://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=K161K
SASHBA_Firmware_6GBPS-SAS-HBA_07.03.06.00_A11_ZPE.exe
* Run sas2flsh -o -e 6
* Run sas2flsh -o -f 6gbpsas.fw
* Booted into Proxmox (boot disks are directly attached via sata to motherboard)
* run SAS-Non-RAID_Firmware_K161K_LN_07.03.06.00_A11.BIN https://www.dell.com/support/home/de/de/debsdt1/drivers/driversdetails?driverid=k161k